In most countries it is only the Governments, through their central banks, who are permitted to issue currency. In the United Kingdom, however, three banks in Scotland: Bank of Scotland, Clydesdale Bank and The Royal Bank of Scotland; and three in Northern Ireland: Bank of Ireland, Danske Bank (formerly Northern Bank), and Ulster Bank, are authorised to issue their own banknotes.

To see what denominations are currently issued by each of the authorised banks, and to find out how you can obtain information about the design and security features of each note, you can either click on the relevant bank logo below or select the appropriate bank name from the menu above.